Home

The WOLCS Board of Trustees and administration have set their sights on moving the school from Good to Great. Most recently, we completed a major expansion that has created a state-of-the-art facility that now houses all grades K-8 in one building.  

True to the school's mission, we will continue to empower children to become lifelong learners in the areas of science, technology and the humanities by exposing them to innovative ways of teaching and learning, while preparing them for the challenges of the 21st Century.
 
 
Board of Trustee Meeting Dates, School Year 2021-22 are listed below.
 
These meetings are open to the public.  
We encourage parents to attend school Board meetings. Visitors will be given an opportunity for public comment.
 
Location: West Oak Lane Charter School, 7115 Stenton Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19138
 
Phone: 215-927-7995
 

Correspondence to Trustees should be directed to the Board Chair, Ava Willis-Barksdale, c/o the West Oak Lane Charter School, 7115 Stenton Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19138 or awillis-barksdale@wolcs.org.

 
Board Members
 
Ava M. Willis-Barksdale - President - abarksdale@wolcs.org 
Wes Somerville - Vice President - wsomerville@wolcs.org 
David R. Bright - Treasurer - dbright@wocs.org 
Nicole McLaurin - Secretary - nmclaurin@wolcs.org 
Sharmain Matlock-Turner - President Emeritus - smturner@wolcs.org 
Irv Brockington - ibrockington@wolcs.org 
Dr. Linda Fleisher - lfleisher@wolcs.org 
Wendy Thomas - wthomas@wolcs.org 
Stephen Hopkins - shopkins@wolcs.org 
Darius Rodney-Hurst - drodney-hurst@wolcs.org 
Sylvia McKinney - smckinney@wolcs.org 
Ayana Bradshaw - abradshaw@wolcs.org

 

2021-2022 BOARD MEETINGS
 
Date Time Location
Monday, September 27, 2021
6:00pm-8:00pm West Oak Lane Charter School
Monday, November 22, 2021 8:30am-10:30am West Oak Lane Charter School
Monday, January 24, 2022 6:00pm-8:00pm West Oak Lane Charter School
Monday March 21, 2022 8:30am-10:30am West Oak Lane Charter School
Monday, April 25, 2022 6:00pm-8:00pm West Oak Lane Charter School
TBD - May 2022 Retreat 9:00am-3:00pm TBD
Monday, June 27, 2022 - Annual Board Meeting 6:00pm-8:00pm West Oak Lane Charter School
Monday, July 25, 2022 8:30am-10:30am West Oak Lane Charter School
 

 

Anti-Discrimination Policy

In administration of its education programs, admission policies, hiring decisions and other school administered operations, West Oak Lane Charter School does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, sexual orientation, national origin, disability or any other classification protected by applicable state and/or federal laws.